Event date 2 Nov '22 14:00 - 15:30 (UTC)
Event location https://gwp-org.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZIqd-2hqTsjHt0QMbwXzAnwIxTMFyX3r1ac
Responsible organisation
Responsible Organisation(s)

Watch the recording of the session:

Remote video URL

Download the slides:

File

The 14th interactive online session of the Transboundary Freshwater Security Governance Train is planned for the 2nd of November 2022. The event will be investigate the relationship between data and decision-making over transboundary waters. The session is co-organized by Oregon State University and GWP.

Water science and policy development go hand in hand. Therefore, a firm understanding of the physical system can be critical to negotiate and manage shared water resources. This session will investigate the relationship between data and decision-making over transboundary waters. 

In this session, we will explore how data supports and/or interferes with decision-making, including themes of determining how much data is needed, overcoming challenges with data availability, and establishing mutual trust in the quality of data. Crucial questions on this relationship will be explored including: What types of data are critical to policymaking and implementation? What databases may be useful?  How can data enhance dialogues and how can negotiations overcome data challenges? What is missing from datasets? 

These and other questions will be covered in a highly interactive way during the session. Participants will be able to put questions to the speakers during the plenary Q&A and will also be able to further engage with the speakers in breakout rooms. A post-event discussion will be hosted here, on the Transboundary water knowledge exchange hub (free registration required).

This event is part of the Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) on Governance for Transboundary Freshwater Security.

WHEN: Wednesday, 2 November, at 7:00 (Oregon), 10:00 (Washington DC), 14:00 (London), 15:00 (Stockholm), 17:00 (Nairobi), 21:00 (Bangkok), 22:00 (Beijing)

DURATION: 1.5 hours

HOW: Registration is required: https://gwp-org.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZIqd-2hqTsjHt0QMbwXzAnwIxTMFyX3r1ac

WHAT: The speakers will reflect on several key questions:

  • What types of data are critical to policymaking and implementation?
  • What databases may be useful? 
  • How can data enhance dialogues and how can negotiations overcome data challenges?
  • What is missing from datasets?

WHO:

  • Dr Yumiko Yasuda (Event moderator), Senior Network & Transboundary Water Cooperation Specialist, Global Water Partnership

  • Yumiko bio

     

  • Lynette de Silva (Co-Chair), Director of the Program in Water Conflict Management and Transformation at Oregon State University (OSU)

  • Lynette

     

  • Aaron Wolf (Co-Chair), Professor of Geography in the College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences at Oregon State University and Professor at IHE-Delft

  • Aaron

     

  • Zoe Rosenblum (Co-Chair), PhD Student in Geography, Oregon State University

  • Zoe

     

  • Yelysaveta Demydenko, Knowledge Management Assistant, Global Water Partnership (GWP)

  • Lisa

     

  • Maija Bertule, Senior Technical Advisor – UNEP-DHI Centre on Water & Environment

  • Maija

     

  • Melissa McCracken, Assistant Professor of International Environmental Policy, Tufts University

  • Melissa

     

MATERIALS: